LibGuides: Key research skills: Determine the Best Resources

Where to Find Different Information Resources

Use library databases for articles from newspapers, magazines, peer-reviewed and scholarly journals.

Different Information Resources

Important Terms

bias an inclination or prejudice in favor of a particular person, thing, or viewpoint
bibliography a list of sources: books, articles, web sites, etc. an author has identified in his or her research; contains pertinent bibliographic information of each item: author, title, publisher, date, etc.
database an organized, online collection of searchable information updated regularly that can contain citations, articles, text, images, etc.
information cycle the process where information about a newsworthy event evolves and expands over a period of time (minutes, hours, days, weeks, months and years)
journal a periodical devoted to disseminating original research and commentary on current developments in a specific discipline or field of study; usually written by the person(s) who conducted the research and may include a list of references for further reading
juried synonymous with peer-reviewed and refereed a process whereby an article is critically evaluated by one or more experts on the subject to determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication, to evaluate its originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, and to suggest changes be made by the author(s) before it is finally accepted for publication
magazine a periodical containing popular interest articles written by journalists in a non-scholarly style for the general public or a specific audience and do not include a list of references for further reading
peer-reviewed synonymous with juried and refereed a process whereby an article is critically evaluated by one or more experts on the subject to determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication, to evaluate its originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, and to suggest changes be made by the author(s) before it is finally accepted for publication
primary source a document or record containing firsthand information or original data on a topic, and includes original manuscripts and research, periodical articles, diaries, memoirs, letters, photographs, drawings, posters, film footage, sheet music, songs, interviews, public records, eyewitness accounts, newspaper clippings, etc.
refereed synonymous with juried and peer-reviewed a process whereby an article is critically evaluated by one or more experts on the subject to determine if the article falls within the scope of the publication, to evaluate its originality, quality of research, clarity of presentation, and to suggest changes be made by the author(s) before it is finally accepted for publication
scholarly relating to serious academic study; having or showing knowledge, learning, or devotion to academic pursuits

Build Your Skills

Complete the "Determine the Best Resources" section to pinpoint the resources most useful for your paper.

Disclaimer

Yavapai College does not necessarily endorse nor condone content found on third-party websites. Links are provided as a convenience only.

The Information Cycle

Compare Information Resources

Review the following comparisons to get an idea of the value and purpose of each resource.

Websites

Strengths

Up to the minute news
Current events, trends, and controversial topics
Subject specific information e.g. Shakespeare Resource Center
Free online books, videos and articles
Governmental information and statistics
Primary sources

Weaknesses

No standards for reliability
Anyone can publish a website results in misinformation
Overwhelming number of results
Possible access fees
Personal opinions are widespread
Difficult to fine-tune or limit your search results

Newspapers

Strengths

Current day's events
Factual - includes background information
May include chronology of events
Written by journalists
Personal opinions and editorials on issues
May include photographs and eyewitness interviews
Primary sources

Weaknesses

Sensational headlines to increase sales
Doesn't provide in-depth articles
The account of the event may be revised over time
Not based on extensive research
Not scholarly or peer-reviewed
Often written for a specific audience and may have a bias

News & Popular Magazines

Strengths

Variety of general topics
Current news, topics, and trends
Statistics
Written by journalists or professional writers
Shorter articles than peer-reviewed or scholarly publications
Content reviewed by editors

Weaknesses

Not peer-reviewed or scholarly
Not based on extensive research
Typically doesn't include a list of references for further reading
Often written for a specific audience and may have a bias

Books

Strengths

Reviewed by editors (increases reliability)
University press publishers indicate quality
Often includes historical information & statistics
Background information on topic
Explores a topic in depth
Scholarly
Primary sources
Concise topical information available in encyclopedias
Often includes bibliographies for further research

Weaknesses

Can take years to write and be published
Information may be outdated
Not always the best source for current topics
Possible author or publisher bias

Menu

Key research skills

Where to Find Different Information Resources

Different Information Resources

Important Terms

Build Your Skills

Disclaimer

The Information Cycle

Compare Information Resources

About

Contact

College Info