Skip to Main Content

Center of Learning and Innovation Updates

Library & Learning Center Transformation

To support the college’s objective to support student success, the goal of the Center for Learning and Innovation is to include shared spaces for the library, information technology support, tutoring, collaboration, content creation, & meetings.

Updates

Prescott Library Services During Renovation
Starting May 13, 2024

The Prescott Campus Library will temporarily move to Building 3 during the renovation and will move into the Center for Learning and Innovation in the Spring of 2026.

Physical Collection

Access our closed stack collection as well as thousands of items through our partnership with the Yavapai Library Network, by placing a hold via our catalog.

Our dedicated library staff can also retrieve items from the collection upon request.

Interlibrary Loan

Utilize our interlibrary loan services to request materials from libraries beyond Yavapai County. Physical items will be conveniently delivered to the library for easy pickup, while articles will be promptly emailed directly to you.

Online Collection

Dive into a wealth of resources, such as ebooks, digital audiobooks, streaming videos, magazines, and journals, available through our extensive databases.

Research Assistant

Connect with our knowledgeable librarians for assistance with your research questions, whether in person, by appointment, or through online chat or phone.

Library Instruction

A YC Instructional Librarian will visit your classroom either in person or via Zoom to impart research skills tailored to your students' assignments. Alternatively, choose asynchronous library instruction, where our librarians will craft a research instruction video specifically designed for your students' assignments.

Technology

Explore a variety of resources available for students, including laptops, hotspots, film equipment, webcams, and more. Additionally, a dedicated laptop is provided for guests to access electronic government documents.

Virtual Reality

Experience ongoing support from our library staff as they provide virtual reality demos, assist with class VR activities, and deliver essential training for faculty.


Book Distributions at Prescott Library
Mar 25 - Apr 20, 2024

Yavapai College's Boyd Tenney Library at the Prescott Campus is undergoing a transformation, and will be part of the new Center for Learning and Innovation!

As part of this exciting transition, we are embracing the digital age by expanding our online collection while also looking to rehome part of our physical collection.

Here's how you can be a part of this transition:

Mar 25 - Apr 5 Faculty & Staff
Select materials to enrich your department.
Apr 8 - 12 YLN Libraries
Choose materials that enhance your library's offerings.
Apr 15 - 20 Students & Community Members
Our doors are wide open! You are invited to bring home these fantastic materials!

Please direct any questions to Tyler Rumsey tyler.rumsey@yc.edu


Construction Begins on Bldg M
May 8-22, 2023

The Library was moved to a temporary location in Bldg I. Library services (reference, computers, check out) are available during Summer Hours. The collection was moved into a storage unit.


After the Library and Learning Center offices were moved out, demolition began.


Forum: Feedback from YC community
May 1, 2023

YC faculty, students and staff gave feedback on the renovation of Bldg 19.

Announcement: Floorplan for Bldg M Renovation
March 31, 2023

building M floorplan
Click the image to view at full size.

News: Release of Master Plan
November 16, 2002

The Digital Commons projects are referenced in the Facilities Master Plan Report p. 16, 38, 40-44, 58 and in the Report Appendix p. 20, 27, 29-30, 37-39.

Read the detailed report on the Facilities Master Plan website.

Forum: Feedback from YC community
November 18, 2022

YC faculty, students and staff gave feedback on the renovation of Bldg M.

Announcement: Project Timeline for Renovation of Bldg M on Verde Valley Campus

Project Details
Renovation of approximately 15,000 square feet of the first floor of Building M

Design Team
SmithGroup

Construction Team
Haley Construction

Target Construction Start
May 15, 2023

Target Completion
May 31, 2024

Site Visit: Learning Enhancement Center & Library at Mesa Community College, Red Mountain Campus August 27, 2021

A group of YC Library staff members toured the libraries at both Mesa Community College campuses, the Paul A. Elsner Library & High Technology Center at the main campus and the Learning Enhancement Center & Library at the Red Mountain Campus. The Elsner Library has three floors. The first floor houses the computer commons, library circulation desk, graphic novel collection, leisure reading, learning enhancement center, writing center, and a spacious community room.

The general collection stacks begin on the second floor and continue up to the third floor. The second floor also houses a classroom, around 15 study rooms, a lactation room, a meditation room, offices for the librarians, their archives, a couple of family rooms and a nice sized conference room.

The third floor houses the rest of the circulating collection, periodicals & newspapers, an enormous reading room and a rooftop patio. 

The Red Mountain Campus has the Learning Enhancement Center (tutoring, media services, study rooms and writing services) on the first floor and the library on the second floor. This library has two patios! One of the library’s unique offerings is its “seed library.”

Site Visit: Cline Library, NAU August 20, 2021

A group of YC Library staff members toured the Cline Library on the NAU Campus.

Cline has a multitude of Labs: Photography, Podcast, Virtual Reality, Extended Reality, Makerspace, just to name a few. One of our tour-guides made the observation that you can never have enough white boards or power for students. Also noted was that study spaces near the book stacks become de facto quiet study areas. There is an auditorium that’s seats approximately 400 people just before you enter the library proper. This space is used for classes, guest speakers and local, community organizations. The Learning Studio on the second floor is a configurable, advanced technology classroom that can seat 70 students.

Site Visit: Verde Valley Campus Library July 4, 2021

Library and Learning Center staff from both campuses met with Dr. Ryan, Dr. Tina Redd, Stacey Hilton, and Tania Sheldahl at the Verde Valley Library to evaluate the current layout of the departments. 

Sophia Zarifis-Russell, Library Manager of the Verde Valley Campus Library, presented images of features available at other commons.  Features included a meditation room, private/together spaces, study pods, and shelving that allowed for collaborative spaces.

Site Visit: Library Learning Commons at Central Arizona’s Apache Junction Campus June 24, 2021

Prescott and Verde Valley Campus Library staff explored the Library Learning Commons at Central Arizona’s Apache Junction campus.

The commons contained mobile comfortable furniture and had lots of natural light. However staff were informed that, the open building layout created multiple issues for everyday use such as amplified sound, sun bleached books, lack of study rooms, ineffective tutoring spaces, lack of office space, and departmental hours of operation complications.  We will keep all of this in mind as recommendations for Yavapai College's commons moves forward.

Message from the Library Director

Mike Byrnes, Director of Library Services

Hello,

We have exciting news to share: both of YC’s libraries will be transforming into a Center for Learning and Innovation. We hope to provide Yavapai College students with spaces that will motivate, promote and support both collaborative and personal learning. 

Maps: Bldg M

Click the image to view at full size.

building M floorplan

Maps: Bldg 19

Click the image to view at full size.